< forrige
Kammerensemble Neue Musik
Concert with Scenatet and KNM at Granhøj Dans 5th of May at 21 and 8th of May at 20
External link: www.kammerensemble.de
Kammerensemble Neue Musik

KNM – or Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin – stands for the active, current music scene in Berlin’s metropolis. The opinion that “New Music is not only for musicians and composers” has led to an active, intense attitude towards performing and programming concerts, as well as to direct audience contact.

Along with other students of former East Berlin’s Hanns Eisler School of Music, Juliane Klein and Thomas Bruns founded the ensemble in 1988. It is now made up of thirteen musicians from all over Germany, Great Britain, Holland and Switzerland.

In close collaboration with international composers, authors, conductors, artists and producers, KNM has presented compositions, concert installations and projects across Europe, in the USA and in South America. Programmes result from a fascination with the unknown and constant discussions about the most essential topics of our time.

Artistically, the ensemble is at home in the creativity of Berlin, where it works together with composers including Mark Andre, Georg Katzer, Chris Newman, Helmut Oehring, Dieter Schnebel or conductors such as Roland Kluttig, many of whom have had a long-lasting influence on the ensemble’s aesthetic. Close contacts have provided links to the improvisation, installation, performance scenes and to the most important music institutions in the city.
KNM has become known internationally, not only for its frequent appearances at the major European music festivals, but also for its own productions including HouseMusik and space+place. In autumn 2007, the ensemble presented an extended concert event at the Carnegie Hall, New York City.

At SPOR 2011 KNM Berlin will perform works by Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgren, Simon Steen-Andersen, Juliana Hodkinson, Sven Åke Johansson and Louis Andriessen.


Winfried Rager, clarinet
Theo Nabicht, bassclarinet
Alvaro Artuñedo, horn
Nathan Plante, trumpet
Andrew Digby, trombone
Alexandre Babel, percussion
Ekkehard Windrich, violin
Cosima Gerhardt, violincello
Arnulf Ballhorn, doublebass
Jakob Bloch, voice

Ulrich Polster, video artist
Juliana Hodkinson, live-electronics

Thomas Bruns, artistic director
Verena Zerm, production

> Kopi af Niels Rønsholdt